Data privacy in Large Language Models
Appearance
Data privacy in Large Language Models
List of Large Language Models
- Personal versions: User chat records may be used to improve AI models, but users can choose whether to participate in this training through privacy settings.<ref>How Do You Use Personal Data in Model Training? | Anthropic Privacy Center</ref>
- Business versions: Conversation content is not used to train models<ref>How do you use personal data in model training? | Anthropic Privacy Center</ref>
- Personal version: Personal version (non-Enterprise, non-Team, non-API plans) conversation content is used to train models <ref>Data Controls FAQ | OpenAI Help Center https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7730893-data-controls-faq</ref><ref>"We do not train on your business data (data from ChatGPT Team, ChatGPT Enterprise, or our API Platform)" https://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/</ref>. Exceptions: (1) Enabling "Temporary Chat" will not use conversations to train OpenAI's models<ref>Website text: "This chat won't appear in your history, use or update ChatGPT's memory, or train our models. For safety reasons, we may retain a copy of this chat for up to 30 days."</ref>, (2) You can go to "OpenAI Privacy Center" to opt out of model training <ref>How your data is used to improve model performance | OpenAI Help Center</ref>

- Business version: Enterprise, Team, and API plan conversation content is not used to train models
- Free version: Conversation content is used to train models<ref>Copilot Privacy and Protections | Microsoft Learn</ref>
- Enterprise version (using Entra ID): No
- Enterprise and Education users: Conversation content is not used to train models and is not reviewed by human reviewers, with enterprise-grade data protection.<ref>Generative AI in Google Workspace Privacy Hub</ref>
- Personal users: Conversation content may be used to train models and reviewed by humans. Do not share sensitive information.<ref>Gemini Apps Privacy Hub - Gemini Apps Help</ref>

- Data retention periods:
- Enterprise version: Admins can control conversation retention time (auto-delete after 3, 18, or 36 months, default 18 months)
- Personal version: When activity recording is disabled, conversation content is retained in accounts for up to 72 hours<ref>Gemini Apps Privacy Hub - Gemini Apps Help</ref>
Further reading
References
<references />